28
Jun
08

Making progress…

Making progress, making progress, making prooooogress.  (MUST be sung like “Making Christmas” from Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas.)

I finally found out what was causing that damn crash.  It was the stoopid BV rock recolor thingamajig in CEP Extras.  I ended up taking out all of my downloads (except my beloved hacks_mods folder) including the z_CEP-Extras folder and the game didn’t crash!  So I consulted my ever so faithful companion (aka Google) which led me to MTS2 (which I visit just about every day so it is sort of sad that I didn’t think to check there first) and the CEP thread.  I started at the end of the comments posts (so I could read the newer ones first, duh) and found that other people had had the same crash when browsing “Decorative/Miscellaneous”.  I actually squealed and jumped up and down when I found how to stop the crashing.  I haven’t checked the game yet to be sure, but I am fairly certain that this was the problem the whole time.  Combine this with the fact that I finally changed my user startup cheat to have shaders turned off (instead of having to race against the game and turn them off before it does this) and haven’t encountered the glitch since, there is a good chance that I might finally get rid of that knot that has been in my stomach for months.  It got to the point where Simming wasn’t even fun… and the idea of having to start the game made me physically ill.

In legacy news, I took 17 more pictures today (which I would have never been able to do all at once as long as it continued to glitch – and I have become very good at avoiding of all my miscellaneous decor)!  So that’s 35 of 90 finished!  The first 11 have been polished (the focus sharpened, lighting issues addressed, and the painting out of hair gaps and clothes cutting into limbs… plus one shot where I forgot the pose hack box I was using was visible) and uploaded to my Photobucket account.  I doubt I’ll get to take any pictures tomorrow (hair appointment, cleaning to do, and a trip to the grocery store), but my goal for Sunday is 6.  I would love to take more, but I have to work on one of my boolprop.com competition entries that day as well (my husband will be listening to the Nascar race so I won’t feel so bad about being on the computer while he’s home).  I have two competition entries due next Saturday (5th) as well as a visit from my parents to get ready for (they are bringing me my new kitteh!).

I have a feeling I won’t be getting much sleep this week.  I only got four hours last night.  😦

But yay for progress!

ETA:  I just looked at one of my earlier posts where I said I wanted to have the prologue for Shadows & Blood published by the 20th of June.  Ha!  What the heck was I thinking?  I mean, dannnngggg, I’m good, but I ain’t that good.  😀

3 Responses to “Making progress…”


  1. 2 July 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Oh dear… I know how you feel. I’m putting off finishing off my last remaining story because of the 90+ screenshots it will definitely need, plus the infinite time it takes to load the game, then the game bluescreening on me when i set up the perfect shot, then the game crashing when I use certain maxis objects… sometimes I do wonder, why do I even bother? :mrgreen: Good luck and beware the blue screen of death

  2. 2 July 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Oh lawd – the BSOD! At least I don’t have that… I am playing with a Radeon card (Radeon X1950 Pro or whatever the heck it is called), and as far I as know the BSOD only happens with Nvidia.

  3. 19 July 2008 at 2:34 pm

    LOL! And the crappy crap load of crap intel chipset =) Blue Screen Heaven, I tell you.


Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,816 vampires released from their coffins.

