13
Feb
09

Consistently Inconsistent

So… Chapter Four… the chapter of inconsistencies.  It pains me to have inconsistencies, but after a couple I just sort of said “to hell with it” and decided that if I was going to be inconsistent at any point, I’d might as well do it all at the same time.  LOL  And, because I’m a perfectionist and a control freak, I’m going to point out the mistakes to you rather than have you giggle about them behind my back (let’s all giggle together – it’s more fun that way, yes?).

And I guess I should warn folks that if you haven’t read through Chapter 3, there are some spoilers ahead (so new readers be warned).

1. Roger’s body hair.  Because I have Pets now, I was finally able to download the body hair overlay hack from MTS2’s adult site (not gonna give the link but feel free to Google  the username, inky-fish).  I totally forgot about it until I was a few pictures into the chapter.  By that time it was too late to go back and re-take those shots (plus I’m lazy – I mean, I could have done it, but I don’t think it would have been worth the effort).  So, yeah – there’s a few pictures where his body hair does a “now you see it, now you don’t” thing.

2. Adelaide’s hair.  Once again it was one of those deals where I got a few pictures into the chapter before the change was made.  The difference isn’t all that noticeable, but I figured I would go ahead and point it out anyway.  The difference is that for her long, straight hair, I had been using Rissa’s recolors of Rose’s donation mesh 94.  I decided (for who knows what reason) that I wanted the original colors so I got rid of Rissa’s recolor (but I kept her red – I love her reds).  **ETA: I just wanted to say that if anyone thinks I paid for the Rose donation hair, well, no, of course I didn’t.  *is cheap*  Look over at my “site-ations” links.  See “The Booty”?  Yeah.  Never, ever, EVER pay for pixels! That shit ain’t right.

3. The picture size.  Alright, so this will probably be the most noticeable inconsistency.  I had been scaling all of my images from 1280X1024 to 600X450.  Only after I made the switch from Gadwin to Fraps did I discover that I can make my pictures 632X506 and not only would they no longer scrunch the picture, but they would still fit on my blog!  The outtakes pictures in Chapter 2 are 632X506, so you can see I’ve known about this better size for quite some time, but I was afraid to change the size of my actual chapter pictures for continuity’s sake.  But as I’ve already said, this chapter I already had some inconsistencies so I decided that if I was going to make the change, this chapter would be the one to do it with.  And I just have to give a shout-out to Mikey (honorkid54 at boolprop.com) because I know I told him about this in a PM.  LOL

4. Ceiling tiles and wallpapers.  Has anyone else noticed that the wonderful new ceiling tiles that come with Apartment Life tend to “eat” the crown molding at the tops of some wallpapers and paints?  Well, I noticed it and it bugged the hell out of me.  I took the first few pictures of the chapter with the old downloaded tiles in place, and after I had a chance to go into HomeCrafter and update about 100 walls so their crown molding wouldn’t be eaten (incredibly tedious, and let me tell you – my carpal tunnel was SCREAMING), I started using the AL tiles.  As far as inconsistencies go, I think some pictures have the “eaten” thing going on.  Actually, I know some do.  Hopefully you won’t notice them if I did my job with camera angles, but in case you do, I wanted you to know that I realize the mistake and I’m sorry for it.

5. Adelaide’s ring.  By this, I mean her wedding ring.  In Chapter 3, Adelaide and Roger were wed in a small ceremony on another lot.  They exchanged rings and both were given the standard simple gold band.  But when I went back to the home lot, Adelaide was still wearing her engagement ring even though the relationship panel/memories showed her and Roger to be married (as I recall, I mentioned this in last chapter’s outtakes).  Because it was only a couple of pictures where her ring was visible, I did a little photo-editing and got rid of the diamond.  But this chapter, I would probably have had to edit damn near 100 pictures.  I decided “f*ck it” and just let the ring be.  I’ve reset her with boolprop a couple of times thinking it might do the trick but she still has on the damn engagement ring.  Let’s just pretend, shall we, that she’s one of those people who wear both of their rings… like me.  I’m either wearing both of them, or neither of them (I take them off to wash dishes, shower or bathe, clean litterboxes, when/if I paint my nails, color my hair, or to play Guitar Hero because my left hand is weak enough as it is without the added weight).  **ETA:  The only thing I haven’t tried is moving her out of the lot and then back in.  Hmm… perhaps I should try that?

6.  Chance and Mireille’s birthday.  I do believe this is the only story-line inconsistency.  The twins were born mid-Summer, but in the upcoming chapter, we see them have a birthday in Winter.  This was a major screw-up on my part.  If I had any sense at all, I would have set the season to Summer when it came time to take the birthday photos.  But I have no sense and so it’s Winter when they grow up (in fact, most of this chapter takes place in Fall and Winter).  I’ve been trying to figure out a good way of explaining it and I can only come up with one lame excuse.  Sim seasons last about 6 Sim days (if I’m remembering correctly) and I used to think of the days as years until the Seasons expansion.  I’ve decided, that for my story, time will kind of just pass, and the seasons aren’t always indicitive of what time of year it is.  A baby Sim born in the middle of Summer (3 days of Summer left) will grow into a toddler on the first day of Fall.  Toddlerhood lasts 4 days and the whole time it will be Fall, and said Sim’s childhood will consist of 2 days of Fall and all of the Winter season (if I don’t play with the length of the seasons… but let’s not worry about that).  So, the Sim knows they will be in each age group for a set period of time, and the seasons themselves also have a set period of time… but the two don’t always match up.  I’m just going to regard it as one of those “simmy things” and try not to worry about it.  I mean, how else can you explain how twins, born on the same day and only a few minutes apart, have completely different zodiac signs?  (Chance is an Aries, which is 21 March – 19 April, and Mireille is an Aquarius, 20 January – 18 February.)  I think EAxis or the Prima Guide explained that zodiac signs don’t have as much to do with  birthdays but rather the personality traits of each sign.  I accept that it’s just that way, so I guess I’m going to have to do the same when it comes to birthdays and seasons… even if it bugs me.

And I think that’s it.  I’ll probably come across more, but I really hope I don’t.  😛

2 Responses to “Consistently Inconsistent”


  1. 1 honorkid54
    17 February 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Oh My, That’s quite a lot of problems you’ve got.

    I love Rose Donation 94. It’s just such an awesome hair, and with Rissa’s Colors, it’s fantastic. I currently use Icedmango’s (GoS) retextures of the hair, but their red isn’t to my liking so I use Rissa’s 🙂 I think her reds are the best. I’m not super keen on the brown, although her new brown is great, and I’m not freaking crazy about the blonde. The black hair, psh, Black looks good in any way 😛

    AH, Picture Sizes make me go just as crazy. I’m still using Gadwin– I personally don’t have much of a problem with it, but I only use it for special projects and competitions, not for my legacy. It’s not as much of a hassle for me, although I get VERY picky with competition pictures. And that reminds me that I need to finish taking the last three-four pictures of my Simcision entry! 😀

    I didn’t even notice the “eating molding” with ceilings, but I totally blame you now, because it’s going to drive me just as crazy. LOL.

    Seasons is complete love, but I don’t really like how a sim will be born in Winter, and then have their birthdays in Spring, Summer, and Fall. And as for the zodiacs, aspirations, and personalities working hand-in-hand, all I can say is that it makes my head hurt. 😛

    Anyway, here’s hoping that you figure out a solution to all of your inconsistencies! 😛

  2. 18 February 2009 at 2:24 pm

    I’m not particularly thrilled with Rissa’s old brown or her blond either. Her new brown is om nomable and her reds… ohhhh her reds. *drools* I saw those GoS retextures, but I wasn’t quite sold on the difference in color from roots to tips. Adelaide is the only Sim I have using that hair, so it is kind of funny that I would become so finicky over one color. I happen to like Rose’s textures (I am probably the only person who does), and I was doing a mini-cleaning of the old downloads folder (it’s 5.81 GBs compressorized so maintenance is a good thing – except that I expanded it rather than made it smaller – oops), and decided to replace some of my retextured or recolored files with the originals (when it came to Rose’s stuff). I got rid of a lot of Raon original textures in favor of Nouked or Liegened ones (I had already done this with quite a few Peggy hairs, and I actually dislike Raon’s more than hers). I was piddling is what I was doing. 😛 I have a hair hierarchy of sorts when it comes to what I download. For Rose meshes, I prefer Rose textures. For anyone else, I prefer Nouk, then Liegen, then Neena or Rissa (whichever is available), then the original. So, if I have a Peggy hair that no one has touched yet, I just grab it from the booty or Peggy’s site, but as soon as someone Liegen’s it, I dump Peggy’s textures for those. And if someone Nouk’s it, then, depending on how good of a job they did (I’ve noticed that some meshes don’t really look right with Nouk textures; it could be the person doing it, it could be the mesh – of course, I can’t retexture hair for shit so anything is better than what I can do), I dump the Liegened ones for the Nouked ones. And sometimes I’ll dump one person’s Nouked retexture in favor of someone else’s. It really just comes down to what I feel will look best in my game. Some skin tones, for example, are just beautiful and so very smooth looking, but they just don’t look like MY Sims when I use them. I guess that’s because I used the EAxis originals for three years. [/long winded and totally unneeded explanation]

    Picture sizes drive me insane! See, when I was using Gadwin (for the prologue), I never saw the screenshots in their original size, so I didn’t know that they were being scrunched. After I realized it, it became something like a picky fingernail – I knew I had to fix it if I ever wanted to live comfortably. I can’t believe it took me this long to make the change. I feel a bit like every picture until the ones for chapter 4 are the mistakes, not the other way around. And now people will get to see my Sims exactly how I see them – not the slightly scrunched version. LOL And yeah, you better get to work on that entry mister! *cracks Simcision whip*

    You know you like it! XD

    Seasons and birthdays and star signs, oh my! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has trouble wrapping their brain around the differences that are forced upon us. I’m trying not to think about it too much. And you know (well, you don’t, but you’re about to), I probably could go back into the game and retake all those pictures, but it’s A LOT of pictures and I really don’t feel like dealing with it (and actually, at this point, ALL of the pictures are finished so it would be really sad to have to go back that far in not only game-play, but picture taking). Plus, at the time the birthdays occurred, I wasn’t completely oblivious to the fact that the birthdays and seasons didn’t match, because I remember thinking, “Oh good! They won’t be starting school in the Summer!” because I have the hack that makes kids and teens get a Summer vacation (they would have gone one day, maybe, and then the rest they would have been home and bugging the crap out of me). I think every Sim kid I have EVER played rolls up the want to get an A+ as soon as they hit childhood, and it sucks when they have wait until they are almost teens before they finally fulfill that want. When it doesn’t concern the legacy house, I try to play with aging and/or the seasons so that won’t happen. I just happened to luck out with the legacy kids… but of course, now that means I have the whole “their birthday is a different season” thing going on. Wah!

    I think I’m just going to have to deal with the inconsistencies. I wanted to point them out so other people would know that I know they are there. I pick apart my own work more than anyone else ever could, so if anyone ever thinks they’ve found a mistake, TRUST ME, I already know about it (unless it’s a typo – and then if Sean doesn’t catch it, I will when I go back to read it three months later), and I’ve fretted over it. I don’t want anyone to think I’m trying to pull a fast one on them or something! LOL


Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,101 vampires released from their coffins.

