27
Oct
09

So, what’s the hold up this time?

Well, if you haven’t noticed, I have not updated with Chapter 6… and I was really hoping to get it out in time for Halloween.  So, what have I been doing?  I haven’t really been working on the chapter.  I have played Sims a few times, and yes, one of those times was involving the legacy folks.  But mostly I have been doing something that has been very physically draining but also very important…

… I have been growing another person.  LOL

Sean and I are so happy and so, so excited!  So yeah, not much has been going on with Shadows and Blood because most of the time I’m laying down feeling sick.  I have some medicine for nausea, but it makes me soooo sleepy (and I’m already pretty sleepy – growing another person is hard work; all I really do is sleep and eat).  I can’t stand to look at the game for too long because the camera rotations turn my stomach, and normally I have a very high tolerance for that sort of thing.  I’m hoping that I’ll start feeling better soon, because I’d like to crank out as many chapters as possible before the big day (which is set for 01 June 2010 right now).  I am planning on continuing the legacy after the baby is born, but I can’t make any promises on how frequent the updates will be.

I just wanted to let you all know where I’ve been… again.  😀

On a more Simmy note, is anyone else using Aquilegia’s You Are What You Eat skins (from GoS) as defaults?  And if you are, have you noticed something very bad happening with your vampires’ fangs?

I’ve forced errors, moved out/back in, changed appearances, added makeup/taken away makeup, cured vampirism/reinstated vampirism… and all of it makes no difference.  I even switched the skintones of the Carmichael family from the default to the custom version of the skin they use, and Roger and Addie both still have the black spaces on their fangs (I was thinking that somehow the defaults I made from the skins were the problem – I’m using a slightly different set than what she provided as defaults).  The only thing I haven’t tried is taking out my vampire hacks (such as this one which allows my vampires to keep their original skin and eyes; honestly, if I had to choose, I’d find a new skin set before I got rid of this).  It wasn’t happening with the Lyran skins, and I am not looking forward to finding a new set of defaults.  I’ve waited so long to use these, dammit!  It looks like I may just have to PhotoShop any fang pictures in upcoming chapters if I can’t figure out what’s causing the problem and come up with an acceptable solution.  Boo hiss!

And lastly, I thought you guys might like to know about this most unholy of unions.  XD

‘Cause nothing brings forth the spirit of Halloween like a vampire and a zombie getting engaged, right?  😛

16 Responses to “So, what’s the hold up this time?”


  1. 1 spyrothedragon from boolprop
    28 October 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I told you I was stalking you. ;D

    OH MY GOD A BABY CONGRATULATIONS! :DDD
    That ultrasound image is so cute. >w->

    And Mary and Zombie getting married?!??! THE MADNESS. O.o

    • 28 October 2009 at 9:40 pm

      LOL I don’t mind! 😉

      Thanks! We have been trying for a very long time (talking years here) and we’re so happy! I love the picture myself. Seeing Little Hicks (and the fluttering heartbeat) brought tears to my eyes and is absolutely one of the best moments of my life. 😀

      And I just can’t resist asking… Mary? Hmmm. Nope, there’s no Mary… perhaps you mean Mehrissa? The vampire isn’t her either. 😛 I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed this, but only one of the Elders wears the black dress: the High Elder. Mehrissa and Starla (when she was “alive”) wear the red dress. The zombie is the High Elder’s “creation” and her lover… now her fiance. 🙂 I was kind of hoping that dangling this carrot would keep up some interest until I feel well enough to work on the next chapter! LOL

      • 3 VampiredLove
        5 July 2011 at 2:05 pm

        Hey how can you get that zombie??I’ve looked everywhere!!!

        • 10 July 2011 at 11:12 pm

          Do you mean that particular zombie or zombies in general? Zombies came with the University expansion, and then I think they were also included in the Apartment Life expansion (I know witches can bring Sims back as zombies – but I don’t know if you have to have Uni for that to happen). Sorry I am not more clear on that!

          As for that particular zombie… he was in-game born and I haven’t put him up for download (don’t plan to either, as he’s not really that attractive and his only “claim to fame” is part of the story).

          Or do you mean something else (like his outfit, skin, or hair)?

  2. 5 spyrothedragon from boolprop
    28 October 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Not Mary, Mehrissa. I have no idea what I was thinking. Thanks for correcting me. [x

    Dangling carrot? Haha, that was like dangling a double-double from in-n-out burger. I’m such a slob. xD But gosh, there’s a million theories going through my head right now.

  3. 6 Anonymous
    30 October 2009 at 9:07 pm

    OH MY GOSH COUSIN ROBIN IS GOING TO PRODUCE A COUSIN ONCE REMOVED!!!! 😀

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for the both of you! Do you have any ideas for names in mind yet?

    Oh gosh I’m squeeeeeing and hopping up and down 😀

  4. 7 honorkid54
    30 October 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Sh!t that was me. Forgot to log in 🙂

    • 9 December 2009 at 9:50 pm

      LOL Thanks Mikey (yes, I’m finally replying)! We have names somewhat picked out. 🙂 We have a first and middle name picked out if it is a boy, but if it is a girl we only have what we’ll call her (not sure if it will be her first or middle name, it really depends on what the other name is and the order that the two sound “right” in).

      I’ve been squeeing so loud myself I’m surprised no one’s called the police! LOL

  5. 9 Immortality
    15 February 2011 at 2:35 am

    How did you resolve this problem with vampire fangs? I have the same trouble, don’t know how to fix this.

    • 15 February 2011 at 1:41 pm

      I never did find a solution! It’s a teeth issue (I exported one of the skins in Body Shop to make sure) and I do believe the only way to fix it is to change the teeth on the skins. I thought about doing that (using either RenSim teeth or regular old Maxis) but it isn’t something I really want to do (I admit it – I’m lazy; the project isn’t beyond my skill level – it’s just beyond my patience level, LOL). I thought about getting new skins, but seeing that the vampire teeth are the only problem I have with these skins, it’s not worth the effort to find new ones. It is funny that you leave this comment now, because I was messing around with this just the other day. I got as far as replacing the teeth on one skin before I ran out of time!

      I’ve just been editing each picture that needs it when I do my regular re-sizing and sharpening (painting in a little of the tooth color on the black part of the fangs). It only takes me about 10 minutes to do that, so it’s a price I’m willing to pay. 🙂

  6. 11 Immortality
    17 February 2011 at 11:49 am

    btw.. I’ve found the problem in default skinset for human skins.. It’s strange but creator just have resized the teeth for human skinset and these skins are blended with vampire skins (maxis or any default replacement for vamp) and it’s just destroyed vampire fangs..

    look at these pics, maybe you can understand it better than I can describe here 😉 –
    http://immlegacy.livejournal.com/35179.html

    • 17 February 2011 at 6:22 pm

      Yep – that’s exactly what I saw. The black area around the canine teeth on the skins is what causes the vampire fangs to have that dark spot at the top! I use this hack by .::TSN::. at MTS so my vampires look exactly like humans except for the fangs. I do wish I had the time to replace the teeth for this skins (either with RenSim or Maxis) but the baby takes up a lot of my time. Now, a year ago, I had more time… but I’m lazy. LOL I also wish I had the nerve to request that someone else re-do these skins with different teeth (but leave everything else as it is), but I know most people would tell me to just do it myself. And I could, but I just don’t have time! Bah!

  7. 13 Immortality
    19 February 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Can I help you with this? Tell me what I need to replace and I’ll do it 🙂

    • 9 March 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Gah! I thought I had already replied to this! I must have dreamed it. I am so, so sorry that I haven’t replied yet!

      I am having a really hard time saying no to your offer, because I would love to have it done (the exact same skins but with Maxis teeth), but I am also having a hard time saying yes because I know it will not be a small project. I don’t want to ask anyone to something I’m not willing to do myself! I actually started on it several times, just to get distracted or run out of time. But if you want to do it, oh God… I would love you forever! LOL Like I said, if you decide to give it a go, I don’t want anything changed but the teeth. Regular old Maxis is fine for me (I’ve thought about Rensim or alkaloid’s teeth, but then I remember that the fangs will be Maxis’ textures so maybe Maxis teeth would be best). But don’t do it just for me! I would feel too guilty. 😛

  8. 15 CDO
    9 October 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Hello 🙂 that is really cool ive been playing sims2 for a long time to & i was wondering where did u get that skin default?

    • 23 April 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Holy crap! Somehow your comment slipped past me and ended up in my mental “reply to after 6.7’s release” list! I am so very, very sorry!

      I use Aquilegia’s You are What You Eat set of skins. I edited these for my own use (added Maxis teeth to fix my vampires’ fangs) and followed a tutorial on how to make default-replacement skintones to default (Apricot, Nectarine, Almond, and Cocoa as S1, S2, S3, and S4 respectively, rather than Aquilegia’s original defaults that used Chestnut as S4). I am sure I Googled how to do both (didn’t save the links). 🙂


Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,519 vampires released from their coffins.

