25
May
10

Induction Junction, what’s your function?

So… unless I go into labor during the rest of this week or over the weekend, I will be induced and Andy will be born next Tuesday.  FINALLY. 

I know this is going to sound selfish, but I am really tired of the insulin shots.  After only a couple of days of taking them I had quickly lost nearly all of my fears of childbirth.  My stomach is all sore and bruised, and it’s just a hassle to do.  Add to that the fact that Andy loves to roll around on my sciatic nerves and it feels like my hips are coming apart (it takes a good ten minutes to roll out of bed) – and that I really just want to meet him already – and I guess you could say I’m more than ready to get it over with.  🙂  The NSTs are continuing to look good, so his heart is doing well, we haven’t been told how big he may be at this point… and I don’t know if I want to think about that too much.

The OB appointments are going well too – even if they freaking HURT like hell.  Andy is still headfirst (my nephew turned himself around at the last minute wrapping the cord around his neck causing a C-section to be performed), I’m already about 2 cm dilated, and about 50% effaced.  I have another NST this Friday, as well as another ultrasound just to check the fluid, and then Monday I go to the doctor early in the afternoon for them to check my cervix one last time (they are hoping that it will do more softening and what-not on its own).  If things stay the way the are now, at 4:30 I come back to the hospital and check in for an induction.  They will give me something called cervidil and then wait overnight and then I’ll have the baby in the morning.  But, if things progress a little more on their own, I’ll just come to the hospital Tuesday morning for an induction (probably pitocin – I’m trying to remember everything my doctor told me today, LOL).  I’m so excited!  I have the feeling I won’t be going into labor on my own because I have a family history of overdue-ness.  I don’t know… I mean, I guess it could happen, but I just don’t feel like it is going to.  But I guess that’s just the last nine months talking (it is starting to feel like I’ve been pregnant forever and that I will never have this baby – LOL).  Everyday Sean and I wonder if this will be the day, and so far, nothing.  Sean guessed today (my family has a non-monetary bet going, and the induction just made everyone, including me, lose) and unless something happens in the next few minutes (’cause you know labor is gonna take HOURS) I don’t see it happening.  I think he guessed today because it’s Towel Day. 😛  If it does happen on its own, I’ll bet Andy will wait for race traffic (the Coca-Cola 600 is this weekend… yeah, we live close enough to Charlotte Motor Speedway that traffic is an issue here on race weekends – partly because of all the Earnhardt and Earnhardt Jr. fans sight-seeing in Kannapolis, which is where we live).

Let’s see, what else… oh OH!  I’m married to a college graduate now!  Sean graduated (well, he didn’t actually attend the ceremony) from UNCC either the 14th or 15th of May.  I’m so proud of him!  He has two Bachelor of Science Degrees – one in Computer Engineering and the other in Physics – as well as a Math minor.  Also, he graduated Summa Cum-Laude.  He’s already started an independent study course for the Summer, as he will be attending Graduate School in the Fall.  I know he’s in contact with a couple of professors, trying to get on as a TA for the Summer to add to the income.  Money’s going to be tight, but we’ll make it work somehow… we always do.  But it will be nice to have him home a little more than he was this past school year, especially with a new baby.  My pregnancy tended to be on the lonely side because he was gone so much and when he was home was constantly working on school stuff.  But it could have been worse – he could still be in the Navy and could be out to sea right now!  Yikes!  I miss the money he made in the Navy before he got sick, but I’m glad he only had to go out once and for like, four days.  I always admired the wives who managed to keep it together while their husband was gone for seven or more months… especially the ones with kids.  I don’t think I could have handled it.  The only time I really thought, “Man, I wish he had been able to go out!” was when most of the wives flew out to Greece to meet the boat when it came into dock.  But between a trip Greece and having my husband stay home, I’ll choose the latter.  🙂

And now for some news on the legacy front.  Okay, so… I almost have all the pictures for Chapter 6 taken.  There’s just a few here and there, and if the damn game would quit crashing, I could get them taken already.  About half the chapter is written, and it’s my goal to have it out before the baby is born.  Will I make it?  Who the hell knows.  Probably not!  LOL  But I am going to try!  My wish for a double update has been crushed, but that’s okay.  This chapter (if it goes as planned – things may change considering time, effort, and game cooperation) is supposed to end with a cliff-hanger, and to have another update right with it kind of softens the blow too much for it to really be effective.  So I’ve pretty much abandoned the idea of a double update this time anyway.  *shrugs*  Oh well.

Lastly, I have pictures to share.  I think my cats are a little confused as to what the new furniture is for, but so far, only two have decided that it is for them.  Oh boy, are they in for a rude awakening next week!

Jakob has decided that the crib is for him (yes, we have things piled in there right now – but it’s only the hospital bag and diaper bag and then this neck thing for when Andy is laying around in his carrier)…

… and Bruce has claimed the changing table.

Here are a couple of pictures of the crib and changing table, sans cats.  They aren’t the greatest because I was too lazy to stand up, and the lights weren’t on so the only light source is the flash.

And here are some baby shower photos!  First, some nifty gifties (not to mention a cat toy right in the middle of the picture that I didn’t notice until after the fact and a carpet that is desperate for a cleaning)…

… and then we have DELICIOUS CAKE.  Nom nom nom nom!  This cake required so much extra insulin, but there was no way I was not going to have some.  The bakery is a little place called Anne’s Donuts (located in Rocky Mount and Wilson, NC) and they make THE. BEST. CAKES.  When Sean and I got married, they were my first choice for our wedding cake, but at the time they had stopped doing wedding cakes.  About a year or so later they started up again.  DAMMIT.

And for good measure, here are some pictures of Berkeley afraid of balloons.  Some of Sean’s family sent him a gift basket (filled with junk food like chips and Snickers and other chocolates – Sean’s favorites) and balloons for an awards ceremony he had at the end of April (he won some award like Outstanding Senior or something… he was up for two awards, but the professor making the decisions decided to give Sean this particular award rather than the other one… which we discovered at the awards thing came with 100 dollars – OF COURSE).  For some reason, Berkles was terrified.  LOL

I want to take some more (i.e. better) pictures of the nursery and put up here soon.  I’ll try and do that this week!

Well… I guess it’s up for grabs between what my next post will be: Chapter 6 or baby pictures!  Keep your fingers crossed for me regarding both.  😛

5 Responses to “Induction Junction, what’s your function?”


  1. 1 Teresa
    25 May 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Good luck with getting Andy here sooner, although it is good to plan for the longest date and possibly be surprised. I will be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers until the happy day 🙂

    ~Teresa

    • 25 May 2010 at 11:58 pm

      Thanks Teresa. 🙂 I wish he would come on his own, but I just have the feeling that he won’t. My mama went 20 days overdue with me, and my aunt (my mama’s sister) went 16 days overdue with my older cousin, Lisa (whose due date was the same as Andy’s is – June 1st!) . I think my mama went on time with my sister, but I don’t know for sure because I wasn’t around then. 😛 And my younger cousin Derrick was taken early because they thought he was going to be a 10 pounder but he turned out to be only 7 pounds 11 ounces (the technology has improved in the nearly 20 years since he was born, but I know mistakes are still made)… which that was a shame because my aunt had planned on doing a VBAC but with the question of Derrick’s size they went ahead with a C-section instead. I don’t know if my sister would have gone over with my nephew or not, because they induced her a whole MONTH early because of preeclampsia (and she was in labor for over a day after induction when Cameron turned himself around and such and they were forced to take him via cesarean) but lucky for them his lungs were fully developed and he was able to go home when she did. My mama had preeclampsia with my sister and had to spend a week in the hospital before she had her… I’m like, the only one in the family that has had blood sugar issues instead of blood pressure issues (my blood pressure is usually on the low side)! I know with the induction there is an increased risk of having a c-section, and as much as I’d like to have Andy the other way, I don’t have a problem with it if they opt for surgery. I figure that they know best, and if he’s being stressed I’d rather not risk it. I know you heal faster if you don’t have surgery (my sister’s c-section scar still bothers her from time to time and Cameron turns 9 this year!) but at this point I don’t care if they have to saw me in half to get him out. I’d rather not have to squeeze out a 10 pound baby and risk hurting him… and me! 😛 And as soon as they offer any drugs I’m going to accept (just say yes to drugs!).

      And I hate to say it, but at least with induction I won’t have to guess and wonder if I’m in labor or not. I don’t really want to go to the hospital just to be sent back home. I was going to rely on my water breaking as being my sign that I need to go, but I found out at my baby shower that NO ONE in my family has ever had their water break on its own (even when they went into labor on their own) so if family history has any say then I can’t count on that being my sign that it’s time. And I’ve read that babies tend to calm down a bit a couple of days before they are born, like they are storing up energy, but Andy is still as active as ever and then I read on the web where some women could still feel their baby kicking and wiggling while they were crowning… so there goes that too, dang dang dang!! LOL

  2. 3 Teresa
    26 May 2010 at 8:50 am

    My water was always broken at the hospital by the doctors so that is definitely not a sign you can count on happening. With my daughter my labor started at 5 minutes and was steady and there was no doubt. With my son I started contracting Friday afternoon but not in any kind of pattern or force. Friday night they sent me home with sleeping pill (which only worked between so they were real contractions) and back I went Saturday morning. The doctor almost sent me home again but I threw a fit 🙂 and as punishment he refused to give me drugs until I threw another fit. Every labor is different even for the same mom which makes it all so much fun :))

    I had a friend whose baby was born a few weeks after my daughter. She had a plan to give birth “naturally”. She ended up having to have Pitocin then she had a local then she had an epidural and finally she had general anethesia and the baby was born by C-section. I told them to meet me with the drugs and ended up having to let the epidural wear off giving birth with no pain meds. These kids teach us early that our plans are really just for fun as they are going to do things their way. LOL

    While you are giving birth next week I will be getting my youngest graduated from high school and preparing my oldest to move to college. I look back over the years to their birth and I thank God it is you and not me 😉 No seriously, they were never the easiest but they were always the best.

  3. 4 honorkid54
    28 May 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Good luck with everything Robin! You, Sean and Andy will be in my thoughts and prayers. I hope the delivery goes well 🙂 And once you’re out of the hospital I can’t wait to see pictures of Andy in his nice new room!


Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,816 vampires released from their coffins.

