25
Mar
12

WiP: Lots o’ Hairs UPDATED

I was working on Chapter 6.8 (See? Told you all I was working on it!) and I realized… I do not have enough Pooklet’d buns/updo’s. Or short/non-emo-ish male hairs.

Not that there’s anything wrong with long or emo-ish male hairs. They just aren’t what I need for this chapter, that’s all. Chapters 6.7 and 6.8 are set in the same time period as the Prologue, so you can see how I would need more buns and updo’s for the ladies, and more “time-period appropriate” hairs for the fellas. I ended up only doing three styles for the guys (Almighty Hat has done so many of them that I really didn’t need to do too much). But for the gals… a whopping TWENTY hairs. I personally don’t like two different characters sharing hairstyles in one chapter when I take photos (unless it is intentional), hence the need for MOAR!hairs.

Here’s what I’ve got so far (WARNING! Image Intense):

I really like this hairstyle, but… for the time period, the side burns were unacceptable. I decided to get rid of the bits sticking up near the part as well for a neater hairstyle all together. This hair uses the default replacement textures that Ja made. I just applied Pooklet’s actions. I needed this one desperately for the upcoming chapter. Because I am stupid and have absolutely no foresight, this hair is only useable by those with the Kitchen and Bath Stuff pack. When I make it available for download, if anyone applies this alpha edit to a version of this hair useable by those without that pack, please give me a link! I will include it on my download info. 🙂

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Another short style for the guys. This time with Pooklet’s V3 textures (and actions). I used the fixed version of this mesh (credits for that go to Fantasyrogue.)

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I’m not sure if I’ll be using this hair any time soon, but I didn’t see where anyone else has Pook’d it, so I figured I’d go ahead. (Probably while I was working on it, three more people finished it – each doing a better job than I have, ha ha!) I used a hybrid texture composed of Pooklet’s V1, V2, and V3 textures.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Wanted this one for the upcoming chapter. I actually retextured this hair back in January! Uses a hybrid of Pooklet’s V1 and V3 textures, as well as their actions.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I LOVE this hair. Uses Pooklet’s colors and V1 textures.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I used Di’s fixed version of this mesh. Uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 texture hybrid. Also, I stole that part on the back of the neck from Aquilegia.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

How I have missed being able to use this hair! Seems that right after I downloaded it, I switched from “anything goes” colors and textures to Nouk, and then to Pooklet. This hair uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 hybrid texture. The part at the back of the neck is the ORIGINAL texture, as I didn’t think of lifting anyone else’s work until I had finished with this hair and moved on to another. STEALING IS WRONG YOU GUYS.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Another up-do. May or may not use this any time soon, but I wanted it in Pooklet’s colors so there you go. I had originally downloaded this hair from Rissa Styles (which is offline) and I have no clue if she retextured it or just applied her colors to Peggy’s original textures, but I didn’t touch the textures at all. I think this hair has a neck gap, but I’ll be damned if I know how to fix it.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Big-assed bun is big-assed! But it still looks pretty awesome from the front, in my opinion. Uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 hybrid.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Ah, another braid. Uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 hybrid.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I’ve seen where others have already applied Pooklet’s colors and actions to this one. Oh well. Now I’ve done it too. Uses a V1/V2 hybrid texture. EDIT (29 Mar 2012): I am currently redoing this one. I realized I made a couple of mistakes while working on it. It will no longer look like this, hence the desaturation of the 360 degree preview.

EDIT 2 (30 Mar 2012): I have updated the picture with the new version of how this hair will look. Still Pooklet’s actions and the same V1/V2 hybrid texture.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I’ve seen this one somewhere else too, but I was almost finished working on it so I decided not to give up. Uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 hybrid of their textures. WARNING: young adult stage of this hair is BORKED! It is beyond my ability/patience/talent to fix it. Wish I could, though! EDIT (31 Mar 2012): I wasn’t happy with the way this one looked in game, so I am redoing it. This 360 degree view is no longer indicative of the final product.

EDIT (01 April 2012): I have updated the preview picture. Still uses the V2/V3 hybrid of Pooklet’s textures (as well as their actions).

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Been done, I know. Uses Pooklet’s actions and hybrid of their V1 and V2 textures.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Yeah, I know. Someone else already did this hair (and probably did a better job). Uses Pooklet’s actions and a V2/V3 hybrid.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

An oldie, but a goodie! I totally stole work from Almighty Hat and Aquilegia for this one. Then, I applied Pooklet’s color actions.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

THIS HAIR IS SO BIG. But, I like the idea that this is what someone’s hair might look like after taking down her bun (when mine was long enough to wear in a bun, it would in fact kind of look like this when I took it down).  I used Pooklet’s actions and their V1 textures.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I like the edited version of this hair better. Those wispy bits would be tickling my face all day long if it was my hair! I used Pooklet’s actions and V1 textures.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Same actions and textures as the unedited version. I can already see myself using this hair for Adelaide (when I ever get back to scenes with her in them). I was unable to remove one tiny little wispy strand of hair on the Sim’s right side of the hair. Even with it still there, the hair looks nice.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Ah… the dreaded four-headed Newsea hydra. FOUR versions of this hair! Something must be wrong with me. I like this hair as it is well enough, but not a lot of my characters have bangs in the time period of the prologue, so away they went (along with the wispy bits). I also played around with removing the bow to make the hair more versatile. All versions of this hair use Pooklet’s actions and a Pooklet V1/V2/V3 hybrid texture. This is the original alpha of the hair.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Alpha version 2, with only the bow removed. Same textures/actions as the original alpha’d version.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

Alpha version 3, with bangs and wispy bits removed. The wispy bits needed to come off if the bangs did, as there was one piece that started under the bangs and looked silly if only the bangs were missing. This version still has the bow. Same actions/textures as the original alpha’d version.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

And, last but not least, the heavily edited version of this hair. Bangs, bow, and wispy bits are gone. This, like the other two edits, contains the same actions/textures as the original alpha’d version.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I really thought the jewelry piece on this hair was going to be the bane of my existence. It ended up looking pretty good, well, I think any way. Uses Pooklet’s actions and the V1/V2/V3 hybrid.

FINISHED! This hair can be downloaded HERE.

I have finished most of these (except for the binning). I hope to be done with them before the end of this week (a long time, I know, but you gotta remember I have a toddler!). Any feedback/encouragement/critiques/questions are welcomed!

UPDATE (28 March): I have binned all of the hairs. Now I just need to take preview pics! 🙂

0 Responses to “WiP: Lots o’ Hairs UPDATED”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,821 vampires released from their coffins.

