13
Jan
13

Because it’s been searched for…

… A LOT!

At least two times a week, someone searches for Aquilegia’s ‘You are What You Eat’ skin-tones and finds my post regarding how they were, at the time, forcing my vampires’ fangs to display improperly. In the comments of the post, another Simmer made mention of how they also did it to their Sims. For a long time, I didn’t know how  to fix it.

Then, I uh… made a Sim Secret about it. (I know, I know. Sim Secret is NOT a FAQ or Help Me! site. Sue me.) Another helpful Simmer said they had the problem and gave a solution! After Googling a bit (I had never done what was required before so I needed a tute), I figured out what to do! My vamps have been blissfully free of the discoloration for some time now. It occurred to me just today that I never did share the fact that I fixed the problem, which may be why the search shows up so often on my site stats! Nope, going back to the comments, I see that I did in fact tell someone that I fixed the problem. But I was vague and didn’t say how I did it.

All I did was replace the texture file in the SimPE. That was it. Easy fix, really. I replaced the teeth that Aquilegia used (original credit for the teeth was given to Oepu) with EAxis’s teeth. Viola! Problem solved!

And, because I’m a nice person, and because Aquilegia’s TOU is pretty open, I’m going to share with you my fixed version of the skin-tones! This file also includes a folder with my defaults (with Apricot, Nectarine, Almond, and Cocoa as S1, S2, S3, and S4 respectively, rather than Aquilegia’s original defaults that used Chestnut as S4), so be sure to delete that folder if you want to keep your defaults (or delete the defaults you are using if you want to use my fixed version). This file is just a copy, paste, and RAR of what I have in my own Downloads folder. 🙂

DOWNLOAD

Alternate Download

Almost all of the credit goes to Aquilegia and the original set of skin-tones. Credit for the teeth goes to EAxis. Credit for helping me fix the problem goes to Sim Topi, whether they know it or not. 🙂

EDITED TO ADD: Forgot to post a close-up picture of what my vamps’ fangs look like now. I have been using Rockburn’s Smaller Vampire Fangs since Chapter 6.7 (but I did test out the skins with the original EAxis mesh), hence the non-tusks. 🙂

Sims2EP9_NoCD 2013-01-13 18-22-55-29

2 Responses to “Because it’s been searched for…”


  1. 1 Pinky
    30 January 2013 at 4:37 am

    I’ve been looking for these skintones for ages. Thanks Alot, Sim Goddess!!!


Leave a Reply

Sim Goddess



Welcome to my blog! My name is Robin and I have been playing The Sims 2 since it was first released (September 13 2004 - technically it came out on the 14, but I had preordered it from EB Games so I got it a day early). Before that, I had been playing original Sims game since... 2000? 2001? I'm not quite sure, but I do remember having to wait for Hot Date to be released. So yeah, I've been playing Sims for years.

This blog, Shadows and Blood, is the home of my legacy (and sometimes some real life stuff too). What is a legacy? Oh, just look at my "Site-ations" list and you'll find a link. I don't have a link to the official site because it fails and I am against it (hence putting my story here, rather than on my Simpage).

So yeah, sit back and read my story. Tell me what you think (unless you think it blows - in that case, don't let the browser hit you in the ass on the way out... jk) or just stop by and say hello. Unlike my Sims, I don't bite.

Disclaimer

This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensers. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc. and its licensers. All Rights Reserved.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 63,816 vampires released from their coffins.

